Birding UK and Ireland Forum  

Go Back   Birding UK and Ireland Forum > Forum Talk > New Features and Improvements

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-12, 11:05 AM
Twitcheruth's Avatar
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK.
Posts: 6,293
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cassillis View Post
With respect Ruth, McAfee will not find all malware.
Oh dear......should I look at your link above then??
__________________
RUTH


My Photos
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-12, 12:01 PM
Cassillis's Avatar
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chiltern Hills South Bucks
Posts: 454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twitcheruth View Post
Oh dear......should I look at your link above then??
Antivirus is exactly that, an antivirus programme that stops virus infections. Malware will bypass the antirirus and lurke in your system and can and will, if not checked, harm your system.
I equate it to the human body. Virus infection, take medication to heal it.
Malware needs a surgical proceedure to get rid of it.

But lets not panic here, your system may well be fine and many run well with malware inside them bit it IS best not to have them at all.

In essence go back to my link, download malwarebytes, install it and run a complete scan. If nothing is found then excellent, if it finds some nasties it will deal with them for you.

If your computer was really playing up I would advise a reboot in safe mode with networking and install and run malwarebytes in safe mode. Malware is sneaky and can hide within system files even when you PC is running fine.

If you need any more help either PM me or post it here, and let me know how you get on
__________________
Graeme

Avise~La~Fin
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-12, 01:04 PM
Twitcheruth's Avatar
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK.
Posts: 6,293
Default

That's great info thanks Graeme.....I've sent the link to hubby.....he'll sort it out for me over the weekend.....I'll let you know how I get on!
__________________
RUTH


My Photos
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-12, 04:54 PM
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South-west London
Posts: 164
Default

Or you could just get a Mac...
__________________
I'm not arguing. I'm explaining why I'm right.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-12, 04:32 PM
Twitcheruth's Avatar
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK.
Posts: 6,293
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stargazer View Post
Or you could just get a Mac...
lol....when I win the lotto!!!
__________________
RUTH


My Photos
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 08-01-12, 10:25 AM
Twitcheruth's Avatar
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK.
Posts: 6,293
Default

I ran a full scan with Malware last night and got the all clear Graeme.....thanks again for all your help!
__________________
RUTH


My Photos
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 08-01-12, 10:34 PM
Cassillis's Avatar
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chiltern Hills South Bucks
Posts: 454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twitcheruth View Post
I ran a full scan with Malware last night and got the all clear Graeme.....thanks again for all your help!
That's excellent Ruth. I tend to run that side of my housekeeping once a month or so.
__________________
Graeme

Avise~La~Fin
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-12, 09:20 AM
Twitcheruth's Avatar
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK.
Posts: 6,293
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cassillis View Post
That's excellent Ruth. I tend to run that side of my housekeeping once a month or so.
I'll add it to my list of jobs too.......tho the free version can only be used once can't it??
__________________
RUTH


My Photos
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-12, 10:30 AM
Cassillis's Avatar
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chiltern Hills South Bucks
Posts: 454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twitcheruth View Post
I'll add it to my list of jobs too.......tho the free version can only be used once can't it??
Not to my knowledge. Next time you open the programme it will tell you the database is out of date and ask if you wish to update it. Simply update and install then run it

Simples!!
__________________
Graeme

Avise~La~Fin
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-12, 10:43 AM
Twitcheruth's Avatar
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK.
Posts: 6,293
Default

That's great then......my hubby has got the wrong end of the stick......thanks Graeme!
__________________
RUTH


My Photos
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:35 PM.