Birding UK and Ireland Forum  

Go Back   Birding UK and Ireland Forum > Ask a Question > What is that Bird?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-03-09, 01:56 PM
Hatchling Member

Question bird of prey

Whilst getting my children out of the car to go swimming this morning I saw an amazing bird of prey. We were in a village location just outside Hertford in the south east of England. The bird was hunting in a field we watched until it went out of sight but of course had no camera. It seemed big to me - bigger than the kestrels that you see above the hedgerows (but I am conscious that i could fall victim to that Father Ted perspective point as it was quite close). The thing that struck me was that it definitely had a forked tail and I thought that only kites had a forked tail (I am a complete novice but did get to see kites once in Brecon, Wales). We aren't in Wales and it wasn't red. My bird book tells me there are other coloured kites but I think they are very rare indeed so doubt it is one of those. The underside of both of its large wings was white and it seemed to have a large white patch on its chest. It did not seem to have a spotted plummage at all so my next best guess of sparrowhawk seems unlikely (though I know my dad saw one near here once eating a pigeon!). I apologise that there isn't much to go on but I would love to hear any of your best guesses.
Old 23-03-09, 02:22 PM
Hatchling Member

Hi, I live not far away from you just up the A10, there are red kites around here, they rarely look red to me, and I don't know about the white chest patch, but my best guess would be a red kite, we recently had a rough legged buzzard up here, but that doesn't have a forked tail,
jo
Old 23-03-09, 02:54 PM
Regular

It sounds to me to be a Red Kite it may be one of last years young and this would account for the white, although I saw an al white one in Scotland last year.

Did it look a bit like to one below?
Attached Thumbnails
bird-prey-img_0146.jpg